Read most of today. It wasn’t the most pleasant day weather-wise but not bad.

In the evening, I met TP and FP for dinner and then theatre. Looking for a place to eat always takes time and this time it was not a good choice.

I met TP off her train. She had been to work in Birmingham for the day. We walked from Euston to Leicester Sq and found Scarlet’s.  Took a while to get a drink and then they brought me white wine instead of red. I asked for pinot noir and got grigio. Then they took ages to bring the red and no water that we asked for. FP came along and joined us and TP and I decided on steak and a side which came along but it was terrible. Tasted as though the meat was off. I started chewing it and my face must have been a sight as it was horrid.

When I complained, the waiter said but I asked if everything was ok, which he had and they had brought salt and pepper and sauce as requested. I always eat at least some chips first though while they are hot.

He said he would see the manager and he came back and said 25% off. The steak cost 20 pounds mind you.  I said no, we’ll pay for everything else but we are not paying for the steak. That was OK but they didn’t give us our Tastecard discount.  We were offered a free drink but I said we were going somewhere else to get food and we were going to the theatre so he said well what about a free meal next week. I said that would be great and he took my details.  We shall see if anything comes of it.

Went and had a sandwich at Pret and TP had a coffee as she was feeling a bit under the weather and tired.

Then to the Adelphi theater to see Kinky Boots. It was great. I must say the guys made very good women all dressed up in the glitzy costumes. The singing and dancing was also top notch. I would recommend it, it really makes you feel good.

Leave a Reply

